Service Excellence Awards

Who is the Best in the Business?

GMWEA believes our water quality workers deserve recognition for their knowledge, skills, and dedication -- too often under-appreciated by the public they serve.  Our annual awards honor individuals, facilities, and companies nominated by their peers for their exceptional achievements. 
The award ceremony takes place in person during GMWEA's annual Spring Meeting, being held on May 23, 2024, at the Killington Grand Resort.
See below for a list of past winners, and a link to a complete list of past winners.  Note: Winners are recognized for their prior year's service.

The deadline to submit 2024 nominations for Service Excellence Awards has passed. We look forward to recognizing recipients at the 2024 Spring Meeting on May 23.
GMWEA Awards Descriptions and Winner History

  • Travis Sheldon, Water Quality Operations Supervisor, Champlain Water District, won the Michael J. Garofano Water Operator of the Year Award for outstanding performance in system maintenance, protecting public health, and achievement beyond normal responsibilities.
  • Winooski Wastewater Treatment Facility won the Facility Excellence – Wastewater Award, given to outstanding facilities exceeding system operation requirements.  Recognition is for the entire facility and staff.
  • Bill Wager, Sr. Principal Engineer, Simmonds Precision Products Inc., Collins Aerospace Vergennes, won the Andrew D. Fish Laboratory Excellence Award, given for outstanding activity in laboratory performance at work, community service, education, committee participation, or other outstanding contribution.
  • Steve Miller, Brewery Wastewater Manager, Alchemist Brewery, won the Outstanding Industrial – Operator Award for significant accomplishment in operation, problem solving, crisis management, training, or understanding of industrial wastewater issues.
  • Amelia McClure, City of Burlington, won the Bob Wood Young Professionals Award, given for achievements of a young professional operator, engineer, or academic student who has achieved notable contributions to the water environment, water or wastewater operations, and /or to GMWEA. (Nominee must be 35 or under).
  • Robert Fischer, Water Quality Superintendent, City of South Burlington, won the Elizabeth A. Walker Meritorious Service Award for exceptional contributions to the water quality field and to GMWEA.‚Äč
  • Weston & Sampson won the Corporate Sponsor of the Year Award for their long support for and engagement with GMWEA's programs.
  • Amy Macrellis, Senior Water Quality Specialist, Stone Environmental, won GMWEA's President's Award for service to the association and the water quality sector in Vermont.

Award Nomination Form
Nominations due by Friday, May 3, 2024
Click here to download the 2024 nomination form
Thanks and congratulations are due to the following individuals, facilities, and companies for their achievements in 2021!
To view all winners since 1997, click the button at the bottom of the page. 
  • Andrew D. Fish Laboratory Excellence Award: Mat Cunningham, Lead Water Quality Maintenance Specialist, Champlain Water District
  • Bob Wood Young Professionals Award: Annie Constandi, Stormwater Engineer, Town of Essex
  • Corporate Sponsor of the Year Award: Ti-SALES, Inc.
  • Elizabeth A. Walker Meritorious Service Award: Tom DiPietro, Deputy Director of Public Works, City of South Burlington
  • Facility Excellence – Wastewater Award: Richmond Water Resources Department WW
  • Michael J. Garofano Water Operator of the Year Award: Tim Mills, Utility Director and Chief Operator, Town of Bethel
  • Operator Excellence – Wastewater Award: Bernie Fleury, Assistant Chief Operator, Village of Essex Junction
  • Stormwater Award: Joe Gebo, Stormwater Equipment Operator, City of South Burlington
  • President’s Award: Chris Robinson, Water Quality Superintendent, Town of Shelburne 

Join Us!

Become a Member and Access a Network of Water Resources Professionals in Vermont.